The Mirror in My Head

The mirror inside my head tells me that I am young and free.  In the looks department, I am holding my own for my age (51).  Watch out if bright red lipstick ever comes back in style.  The mirror inside my head displays a youthful outlook, spring in my step, a song in my heart, wings to take me anywhere I want to go.  No pain, sickness, or slowing down.  The mirror in my head sees inside my heart and soul.   The mirror’s reflection gives joy, instead of despair.  The mirror in my head shows me on the runways of Paris, rocking the new styles.   The mirror in my head has me wearing 3 inch heels again.  The mirror in my head puts the mirror in my bathroom to shame.  The mirror in my head does not lie to me.  It tells the truth in every way possible.  The mirror in my head shows me that I am alright with the world and the world is alright with me.  The mirror in my head sees me smiling and laughing and having a good time, day and night.  The mirror in head sees me running an empire, directing the flow if information back and forth as if my every word and thought mattered.  The mirror in my head has me hosting, entertaining, inviting, going to concerts, plays museums, art exhibits, networking, emailing, texting, phoning, typing, scanning.  The mirror in my head shows me happiness, contentment, joy, and at peace with myself as well with the world.  The mirror in my head never let me down.  The mirror in my head is looking back at me and telling to stop looking at the mirror in my bathroom.  The mirror in my bathroom lies to me, tells me that I am old, dried up and lost.  The mirror in head tells me I can’t, when all I want to do, is do.  Maybe I should introduce the mirror in my head to the mirror in the bathroom.  Maybe they could come to a happy medium, coexist. Maybe I will invite the mirrors to dinner and have a sit down.    We three; are very  civilized.  We should be able to get along.  At least that is what the mirror in head tells me.  They both have been fighting for control over me for the last ten years.

Here is a happy solution.  I will just listen to the mirror in my heart and soul.  That is all that is important.  I will keep it clean, standing straight and tall.  It won’t be swayed by false trappings and flowery speeches.  This mirror will bring my true reflection into focus.  This mirror will show the depth of my love, trust, loyalty, devotion, my connection to God.   Yes, this is the mirror for me.  But I will not do away with the other mirrors.  They reflect me as well.  They just don’t have the same control as they use to.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

